Sitemap Member Login

Press ESC to close


Boy Scout Adult Leader Recognition

We have three levels recognition for adults, one earned and two nominated. They provide recognition for years of commitment to advancing the Catholic faith of our youth through Scouting. Applications or nominations need to be made each year prior to the annual adult awards dinner as noted in the calendar, generally in the fall time frame.

Bronze Pelican

The Catholic Committee on Scouting Archdiocese of Los Angeles awards the Bronze Pelican to men and women in recognition of their influence in the spiritual formation of the Catholic Youth in the Scouting movement.

The Pelican has been used as a liturgical symbol since the early days of Christianity to denote the tender care of the young by a parent and by the Church.

The Archdiocese Bronze Pelican award is earned; the three basic requirements are:

Upon completion of these requirements the Scouter submits their application directly, either to the National Catholic Committee on Scouting or the local council Catholic Committe on Scouting.

Bronze Pelican Award - Application Form (39 kB)

Saint George Emblem

The National Catholic Committee on Scouting, acting through the local diocese, may award the St. George Emblem to members of the laity and clergy, Scouters and non-Scouters alike, who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the spiritual development of Catholic youth in Scouting.

The number of St. George Emblems is limited each year, based on the number of Catholic units. So the failure of a person to be recognized in any given year should not be considered a rejection, but rather an encouragement for the nomination to be re-presented in a future year, perhaps with more complete and additional information.

St. George Award - Nomination Form (42 kB)

Msgr. James E. Dolan Award

This award was established to honor Msgr. James E. Dolan from the Archdiocese of Los Angeles who developed the Ad Altare Dei Religious Emblem in 1926, the first ever in Scouting, to honor Catholic Scouters on the Archdiocese Committee for their service as an officer and/or in committee assignments. The nominee must have a minimum of ten (10) years of service in these capacities.

Msgr. James E. Dolan Award - Nomination Form (35 kB)

Thomas Nishikubo Catholic Scouting Retreat Award

Mr. Nishikubo was the originator of the Annual Catholic Committee on Scouting Retreat for the Archdiocese of Los Angeles. Read Mr. Nishikubo's very interesting biography.

This award honors Scouters on the Catholic Committee on Scouting Archdiocese of Los Angeles for their continued active involvement, commitment, service, and dedication to the Annual Scout Retreat.

Tom Nishikubo Catholic Scouting Retreat Award - Nomination Form (35 kB)

Girl Scout Adult Leader Recognition

Adults who work tirelessly and without pay to mentor young people deserve special acknowledgment as well. Two medals are specially designed with the adult religious recognition moderator in mind. The St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Medal recognizes any adult who serves Catholic youth through national organizations like Girl Scouts of the USA and Camp Fire USA, the St. Anne Medal, is the highest recognition for adults. These recognitions are not given based upon completion of a program, but are awarded by the diocese to adults who model the highest ideals for young people. Suggested guidelines for the awarding of the medals are available.

St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Award

The St. Elizabeth Ann Seton recognition was inaugurated in 1980 to recognize the meritorious contributions of adults who serve Catholic youth through Girl Scouts and Camp Fire. This medal affirms the work of those who help youth develop their spiritual lives within the context of these organizations. It will ordinarily be received before the St. Anne Medal is earned, but is not a requirement for receiving the St. Anne Medal.

St. Anne

The St. Anne Medal is the highest national recognition for adults who serve Catholic youth through Girl Scouts and Camp Fire. The recognition was inaugurated in 1957 and redesigned in 1980. The purposes of the St. Anne recognition are: